Community Forums

Five weeks out of s...

Notifications
Clear all

Five weeks out of surgery...old guy...thank gawd for veganostomy...shower stool/chair in front of commode

10 Posts
8 Users
15 Likes
oldguy
(@oldguy)
Topic starter  

Hello, I'm still learning about this stuff, and Veganostomy has been a great resource!  

I have a colostomy.  My stool is already quite thick, so I've learned to use a water bottle rinse (16 oz tap water) to 'flush' my bag.  I use the 'burping' technique with my hollister new image two piece for adding the water. with the bottom open (and inside the bowl).  TP cleanup of the bag opening is a breeze.  

I bought a $35 light-weight shower stool chair that I place in front of the commode that eliminates kneeling on the floor.  My wife suggested it.  She's a genius.

It's working for me, but understand everyone is different.  

Cheers!

LK, GoatHerder, LLNorth and 4 people reacted
VeganOstomy
(@veganostomy)
Admin

Welcome, and thank you for posting! I like the idea of using a shower stool 👍 Your wife is awesome for suggesting it!

Just your friendly neighborhood ostomate.
~ Crohn's Disease ¦ Ileostomy ~

LK reacted
ReplyQuote
Tigerlily
(@tigerlily)

The shower stool is a great idea! I too kneel, but I know there will come a time when that will be difficult. Thank your wife for the brilliant suggestion.

Laurie

Just a semicolon

LK reacted
ReplyQuote
LLNorth
(@llholiday)

Welcome, oldguy, and that is a great idea! LL

Colostomy 4/30/18.
I love the smell of coffee in the morning. It smells like .... victory.

LK reacted
ReplyQuote
john68
(@john68)

From one guy to another Welcome and best wishes 🙏👍

ileostomy 31st August 1994 for Crohns

LK reacted
ReplyQuote
GoatHerder
(@goatherder)

Sounds like that's working well for you. I use a bidet, so I can blast out my bag while sitting on the potty. Clean as new in 10 seconds and I'm done.

Retired engineer, now goatherd
Ostomate since 2015: Mid transverse after cancer