Coloplast Sensura Mio 2pc: REVIEW (w/ video)

Share on facebook
Share
Share on pinterest
Pin
Share on twitter
Tweet
Share on email
Email
Share on print
Print
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp

When I had tested the one-piece SenSura Mio appliance, I was a bit disappointed but found enough strong points to recommend it to most ostomates.  The two-piece system has been something that I’ve been looking forward to trying, and here’s my review!

Disclosure: This review is based on samples I received through the Coloplast customer service dept, as well as samples received during a patient feedback program. No other compensation was provided, and both my experience and opinions are completely my own.

If you’re interested in the video review, check it out below:

About the Sensura Mio Click
Products I've used for this review
Product name: SenSura Mio Click baseplate
Manufacturer: Coloplast
Product #: 10502
Dimensions: 10-35mm, Cut-to-fit, flat wafer with 40mm coupling 
Quantity per box: 5
Product name: SenSura Mio Click Narrow Outlet Drainable pouch w/ filter; opaque.
Manufacturer: Coloplast
Product #: 11432
Dimensions: 40mm flange coupling
Quantity per box: 10
Product name: SenSura Mio Click baseplate
Manufacturer: Coloplast
Product #: 10512
Dimensions: 10-45mm, Cut-to-fit, flat wafer with 50mm coupling 
Quantity per box: 5
Product name: SenSura Mio Click Wide Outlet Drainable pouch w/ filter; opaque.
Manufacturer: Coloplast
Product #: 11472
Dimensions: 50mm flange coupling
Quantity per box: 10

The Sensura Mio Click is an inspired ostomy product line by Coloplast. It holds an impressive feature set and style that sets the bar for what an ostomy appliance should strive to be.

The SenSura Mio Click line comes with a staggering number of options, from opaque to transparent, filtered to filterless, wide outlet to narrow outlet, closed-ended to drainable, flat wafers and convex – you get the idea right? It’s a complete line that caters to any ostomate, including urostomates.

Coloplast is good when it comes to providing a complete package for ostomates, and the wafers are packaged with a reusable stoma measuring guide; the pouches come with small garbage bags and filter stickers.

Coloplast Sensura Mio click package contents
You get everything you need in the package.
The Wafer

The SenSura Mio Click wafers I’ve used are cut-to-fit, which means I have to measure my stoma and cut an opening to fit through the wafer.  These wafers are really easy to cut, and they have measuring guides that you can use if you know your stoma’s size before hand.

Sensura Mio click wafer back
The guides on the back of the baseplate make it easy to cut the right size hole for your stoma.

They do come with a single release liner, but the wafers are not individually sealed, which I find more difficult to carry in my travel bag.

For those looking for added security, the wafer does have four belt hook loops (vs. two you’d find on most other appliances), but it requires a special four-hooked accessory belt to take advantage of.

Sensura Mio click wafer top
The SenSura Mio Click has four loops to hook a support band too.

One of the benefits to the Sensura Mio Click is that the wafer is highly flexible and will work well with many body shapes. Patients with hernias, for example, may find that the Mio will form-fit along curves better than some of the more rigid plastic wafers.

The thing that I like most about the Sensura Mio wafers, is the fact that my skin does really well with them! I don’t find any irritation under the wafer or around the edges of the wafer (which were a problem on the Xpro and Assura line), and the skin around my stoma remains intact and healthy. My results are great even without the use of barrier rings, barrier wipes, stoma powder, or anything else to help my skin. Kudos to Coloplast!

Peristomal skin Before sensura mio
This is what my skin looked like before using the SenSura Mio Click.
Peristomal skin After two weeks sensura mio
This is what my skin looked like after approx. 2 weeks of using the SenSura Mio Click (no additional supplies used).

My wear time has been a consistent three days with zero to minimal wafer erosion. This is actually much better than I had expected, and it did perform better than the one-piece; I experienced NO LEAKS while using these wafers.

Unfortunately, wafers in the Sensura Mio line are manufactured using gelatin, so these would personally not be a product I’d choose first, since I have alternatives that are free of animal-based ingredients.  One can only hope that Coloplast will replace gelatin in the future.

The SenSura Mio is also available in convex, although it’s not a style that I’ve tried before.
The Pouch

I’ll be honest, the SenSura Mio bags are the best looking ostomy bags on the market right now, and they are the only one I’d confidently wear without a pouch cover.

The fabric cloth that’s used on the product is unlike anything you traditionally find on an ostomy bag. The color is a neutral grey and it does a great job of repelling water; I often find that after showers it takes very little effort to dry my pouch and it would often be dry before I even finished using the bathroom.

Wearing the Coloplast SenSura Mio Click
The best looking ostomy bag around.

Unlike many other brands that use opaque cloth bags, the fabric used on the Mio is durable and modern looking, and it’s nice and smooth.  As a bonus (which really should be a necessity on any opaque pouch), the fabric conceals the contents of my bag quite nicely.

The Mio Click, like many other Coloplast products, comes with a mechanical coupling that uses a locking mechanism to secure the bag. The style of the lock is slightly different from the SenSura Click, and it’s been improved to allow for easier access in a more reliable design.

Coloplast Sensura Mio Click wafer and bag
The coupling mechanism can easily be seen in this photo.

The lock does add a bit more bulk to the appliance, but when unlocked it allows you to easily rotate your bag horizontally or diagonally before locking it back into place. This is something that you’d have trouble doing on other appliances since freely rotating the bag isn’t as easy as it is with the Mio and it’s often less reliable.

While the mechanical coupling on the Mio is great for convenience I found that it was useless if I needed to burp my appliance to release gas from the coupling. Attempting to burp my appliance basically causes the bag to completely come off! I was over a toilet the first time I tried that, but I can’t imagine what kind of trouble I’d be in had I attempted that in bed on in my car! If you must burp this appliance, do it from the outlet while laying flat on your back.

Coloplast offers both a wide and narrow outlet to the SenSura Mio Click, with the narrow outlet designed specifically for ileostomates (I’ll refer to this as the “ileostomy bag” throughout the rest of the review).

The narrow outlet pouch differs from the wide outlet version in a few ways, which I’ve detailed in THIS post. Basically, you have no velcro tabs from which to hold the outlet flap open while you empty your pouch, and you also have a different filter design, which I’ll explain more of in the next section.

Coloplast SenSura Mio wide vs narrow outlet
(top) Narrow outlet. (bottom) Wide outlet. Notice the extra velcro tabs on the wide outlet?

While I do prefer the wide outlet, the exclusion of the velcro tabs on the narrow outlet bags really made it difficult for me to empty my pouch, or clean it without getting my hands dirty (quite literally!).  I’m sure ileostomates with liquid output might find it easier to empty with this design, but I found it quite a challenge that easily added another 20 seconds to my routine as I struggled to clean the opening and the flap.

You will still find Velcro fasteners at the end of the outlet, which keeps the outlet securely closed, and you can tuck that outlet neatly on the bottom, or fold it in half for a more compact look.

Like the one-piece, I really appreciate the attention to detail on these bags, and you can easily find the model number and lot number on the top of the pouch, under the fabric flap.

A nice touch that Coloplast added to the Sensor Mio bag is the inspection window which allows you to see what’s happening inside your pouch without having to resort to wearing a clear pouch.

Coloplast SenSura Mio Click inspection window
The inspection window offers a great balance between transparent and opaque pouches.
The Filter

As I mentioned previously, the wide and narrow outlet bags both feature different filters, or more accurately: pre-filters.

If you look closely at the two styles, you’ll notice the wide outlet pre-filter has many small holes in it; this can help to remove gas from your pouch, provided your output is dry enough not to clog it up!  The narrow outlet bags have pre-filters with only a few holes, and that should help to keep ileostomy output from clogging it.

Sensura Mio prefilter comparison
Fewer holes on the ileostomy bag mean fewer chances for the filter to get clogged.

But does it work??

I do find that the ileostomy bags work better than the colostomy bags (wide outlet bags) when it came to minimizing ballooning, however the results are still inconsistent; I found that on certain days I would have pouch balloon within 24 hours, while at other times I could go a full 3 days without ever having any pouch ballooning.

If ballooning is an issue with these bags, considering using the Osto EZ-Vent. I’ve got special instructions on how to get it working with this bag HERE.  I’ve also got an entire article on ways to prevent ballooning HERE.

Since my output tends to be thick (for an ileostomate) this is a little concerning as I know that liquid output will probably clog this filter up much faster than the output that I’ve got.

I’m also not a fan of the large pre-filter that either of these pouches come with. One of the reasons for this is because I find that no matter how empty my pouch is, it always feels like it still has something in it. This happens because over time the pre-filter will collect fluid without giving it any place to go so it’s basically like you’re carrying a sponge in your bag.

Sensura Mio Click saturated prefilter
Unfortunately, as the pre-filter becomes saturated, it makes the bag feel weighed down, even when empty.

For some, the feeling this causes may be annoying, considering you have to wear an appliance 24 hours a day, and I do find it frustrating to have to double-check and triple-check to make sure that my bag really is empty.

I would have preferred no pre-filter and simply a small filter like what you’ll find on Hollister, ConvaTec, B. Braun and other ostomy bags. While there is an option to go with a filterless bag, this defeats the purpose for anyone who has ballooning issues.

There is one advantage to having a pre-filter, though, and it’s the fact that I’ve never noticed the pouch sagging when it got full.

But the large pre-filter is also a problem if you’re the type of person who wears stoma guards. Some stoma guards simply don’t have enough room for everything to fit under them comfortably with pre-filter there – it’s overcrowding, to say the least!

Some ostomates may also find that the large pre-filter creates pancaking issues or makes pancaking worse for people who already struggle with that problem.  I noticed this happening a lot, where I wouldn’t normally notice it on other appliances.

One thing I do need to point out is that the outer filter is not waterproof, so you do need to use the included filter stickers if you plan on having a shower or going for a swim with this appliance; not covering the filter can lead to water clogging it from the outside.

Conclusion

At the time of this writing (Dec 2015), the SenSura Mio Click is available worldwide.  I find that the prices on these are about average, but still more than a one-piece.

Coloplast is great for sending samples, and you can request them from your local Coloplast office.

Pros
  • Comfortable.
  • Gentle on the skin.
  • Flexible wafers.
  • Locking mechanical coupling is very secure.
  • The pouch fabric is in a class of its own, both in quality and aesthetics.
  • The inspection window is a really nice touch.
  • The velcro closure locks are convenient and secure.
  • The fabric cover is the most water-resistant I’ve seen on any appliance.
  • Available pretty much everywhere.
  • The filter on the ileostomy bag does work fairly well.
  • The wafer is easy to cut and contains a measuring guide on the release liner.
  • Wafer holds out great during showers.
  • Wafer held up very nicely, even after 3 days.
Cons
  • I found the lack of velcro tabs on the ileostomy bag to be challenging.
  • Contains animal ingredients.
  • The large pre-filter can feel quite bulky.
  • The pre-filter often exaggerates pancaking.
  • The pre-filter makes it hard to wear a stoma guard.
  • Can’t burp the bag from the coupling.
  • The outlet flap on the narrow outlet often makes it difficult to clean.
Recommended

The Coloplast SenSura Mio Click is a well-rounded appliance, and you can tell that a lot of work went into the design of this product; it’s worth checking out if you didn’t have much success with the one-piece Mio.

For those who have been disappointed with the filter performance on the wide outlet bags, you will have the option to use the ileostomy bags for better results.

While the system does have a few flaws, mostly coming from the size of the pre-filter, may ostomates may overlook them in favor of the next-level fabric and design.

For more information, please visit the Coloplast website at www.coloplast.com
Bonus: A Review on the Convex Urostomy Mio Click System

The following review was shared to me by a urostomate, Stephen, who’s been able to write about his experience with the Convex Urostomy version of this system. This is information that I could never provide first-hand, so I am grateful for his effort in putting this together.

Bag pt no. (11498), backing plate pt no. (16911)

Share on facebook
Share
Share on pinterest
Pin
Share on twitter
Tweet
Share on email
Email
Share on print
Print
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp
guest
108 Comments
Newest
Oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Tim
Tim
25 days ago

I received the sample of this 2-piece system from Coloplast, and am kind of shocked at the amount of negatives it has.
Since it’s known that all filters seem to clog up pretty fast no matter the brand, having no way to burp the bag once the filter is clogged (without adding another product like the EZ burp product) is a deal breaker.
Having the pre-filter clog up as well isn’t good.
As it’s been pointed out, without a “floating flange” to be able to press the bag onto, and having to press against your body hard enough to get it to click just doesn’t seem safe at all. Yes, you could attach the bag before applying the flange to your body during a change, but what if you need to remove the bag for some reason after that.
Trying to rotate the bag with the lock clicked off, was very tight and felt like I would rotate/pull the flange off of me, it was so tight. The lock too, seemed very difficult to unlock. Maybe I’m doing something wrong, but was difficult for me.
The bottom velcro closure seems like the only good thing.

Alastair
Alastair
3 months ago

Firstly, Eric, thank you for your informative, helpful, “no nonsense” site.

Since my APR surgery on 10 February I have been using the Hollister New Image 2-piece system, with its CeraPlus Skin Barrier and a drainable pouch. The skin barrier is excellent: flexible, secure, and I get 5 days wear with no skin irritation. The Hollister “floating flange” makes it easy to get your thumbs behind the flange to press on the pouch and secure it in a pinching motion between finger and thumb. The pouch itself is not so good, however: the non-woven fabric cover roughs up after a couple of days, can get damp in the shower, and the end of the tail is quite hard to clean because of the thin, 1mm or so, floppy plastic that extends past the thicker end of the tail. It does always feel secure when rolled up, though, and the filter works very well.

I tried a sample Sensura Mio click wafer and drainable pouch for the first time at my last appliance change.

The pouch is really excellent: good quality material, good shape, easy to empty and clean the tail, shrugs off water, the tail tucks away, and the pouch can be folded if required. Very good all round.

I’m not so sure about the wafer though: unlike Hollister’s “floating flange”, I found it very difficult to press hard enough on the wafer when it was on my abdomen to get it to click. It took about five minutes and was quite frustrating. And, it’s only been on two days and the outer edges already seem to be peeling away from my skin, which is making me feel slightly nervous. (My skin was clean and dry, with no use of moisturizers or anything like that before I fitted the wafer.). I did also try lubricating the flange with a drop of hair clipper oil to make it easy to rotate the pouch (per the posting on this site) but it was still too stiff.

If there was a manufacturer that could combine the best aspects of the Coloplast Sensura Mio pouch with the Hollister New Image wafer, they’d clean up!

SqueakyandLiza
3 months ago
Reply to  Alastair

@Alastair
I agree. I have been using the Sensura Mio click. They start to peel away from my skin too, so I have been using wafer extenders and that helps quite a bit. They do start to pull away too, but I have really dry skin. They do give me some extra time though. You might give then a try. I’ve used both coloplast and Hollister. I prefer the Hollister ones. 
 

dogtalkerer
4 months ago

interesting JTV.   if you roll over on your stomach at night will the stoma bleed?  mine only seems to bleed when I’m cleaning around it with a paper towel.  of course it could bleed at other times and I do not know it.  is your stoma sensitive to touch? my colostomy isn’t,  i can bang on it all day without trouble, grandulomas don’t like being touched though.
BOB, how many failures do you find per box of 10 near the 10th month per expiration date?
I recently wore a 8-10yr old convetec and couple weeks later a brand new sample,  the wear times were basically the same from old to new    I really question these so-called expiration dated bags.  really like to see some hard data, not just a manufacturer suggestions.
the Mio was initially a closed end bag designed to be removed daily.   the first drainables, about 8 yrs ago or so came out,  I tried them and they  lasted 3-4days, recently I tried a Mio again and the wear time was about the same as if they are still basically a drainable closed end style flange.
lots of variables i find with leaks,:
how clean was the skin,
how hot did I get the flange
how long I kept pressure on the bag putting it on.
how much bending I do, not a constant for sure.
pinning it down to its manufacture date would require a whole lot of testing. at least 3 – 4 boxes.
 

JTVT
4 months ago
Reply to  dogtalkerer

@dogtalkerer
I’m not sure about rolling over on it as I haven’t slept on my stomach, even inadvertently, since I was stomatized. I actually miss it. The stoma is very friable and bleeds with cleaning, after a long day under a guard, or even with a waist band that rides up or down without a guard on. I grazed it with a ski pole causing a small laceration and it bled A LOT. It also healed quickly. It’s highly vascularized tissue so all of this is probably normal. No somatic sensory receptors in intestine so no, there is little pain associated with the damage. I do have pain around the stoma and some visceral discomfort but thats a different story. I can’t speak to using product near the expiration date as I’ve only had this thing for 4 months. I would feel perfectly comfortable using pouches indefinitely. The wafers make me more nervous but I’ll probably use them beyond their best by date. I did have some freeze on me then thaw with a lot of condensation so I’m saving those for a rainy day. 
 

JTVT
4 months ago

To weigh in on the debate, not that anyone asked me…  I agree with those who have highlighted individual differences as dictating which system is best. It was said above that the 2 piece is not an active person’s friend but it is if you have a higher output ileostomy with a long stoma. The flange on the 2 piece serves as an essential part of my stomal protection. My spout is long enough that all the stoma guards I’ve tried tend to crush my stoma and prevent output. The flange lifts the guard off my stoma which is key. I agree that the 2 piece is more rigid and kind of a pain in the ass with deep bending but it’s better than a bleeding stoma surrounded by an exploding pancake! 

SqueakyandLiza
5 months ago

I’m not exactly sure why I am getting fewer leaks with the two piece. If anything, I am bending more now. I was so sick and weak getting out of the hospital that I wasn’t really doing any bending. I had to use a walker for a month or so – longer when leaving the house. And I had physical therapy for a couple months just to strengthen my legs and regain my balance. The 2 piece with the adhesive has a big wafer that causes a little problem with bending. Now I have moved to the click which is as small as the one piece and doesn’t seem to impede my bending any more than a one piece does. 

LK
5 months ago
Reply to  SqueakyandLiza

@SqueakyandLiza..lets  see if I can save you a big “read over”! lol! It seems to me Eric said he  uses a small machine oil to help  spin his  two piece. That would safely come in the form of something like sewing machine oil and only a drop or two will be plenty.   Also, it would  not stain your clothing if you got  some on it.   If so,  then liquid dish soap (Dawn) works  pretty great  for removing oils or grease  from material,  this is from experience.  Surround the stain with soap first, then rub it in to the center.

dogtalkerer
5 months ago

squeeky, why do you think you get fewer leaks with a 2 piece?   I wonder if with the stiffer flange of a 2 piece,  you subconsciously bend less since the 2 pice is more noticeable .  ?less bending, less leaks. 

SqueakyandLiza
5 months ago

I have been sampling the 2 piece Sensura Mio click. I tend to get fewer leaks with 2 piece systems, and after using the Mio with adhesive coupling for a while, the click is a nice change. The adhesive coupling wafers have such a big plastic ring where the 2 parts connect, and it can be annoying. The wafer on the click feels so much smaller. The only real problem I have been having is getting the bag to click into place. I feel like I am bruising something trying to snap the bag down. I’ve just read through all the pages of comments and will try wetting the ring next time. Any other tips for clicking the bag down without causing internal bleeding? 🤣

dogtalkerer
5 months ago

vegan, you have a funny way with words. you said many “prefer” the mio, then state there is no “better”so I have to ask for a definition of “prefer” and “better”  here.    seems to me they are synonyms to each other.  so,  I prefer sensura because i consider it better…….I think all the people in the cymed post thought the microskin was best, can you really argue with the 36,000 readers of that post?

SqueakyandLiza
5 months ago
Reply to  dogtalkerer

Posted by: @dogtalkerer so I have to ask for a definition of “prefer” and “better”  here.    seems to me they are synonyms to each other.  

We can all google the definitions of both words, so I won’t post those, but in my opinion, “prefer” is completely subjective, while “better” is much more objective. Every ostomate has different criteria they use to determine which appliance they prefer. Just because someone may prefer one brand does not make it better than others. Eric, thank you so much for all the work you do reviewing different products, so we can all choose which one we prefer for our own unique situation.

dogtalkerer
5 months ago

Hey JT, I use the coloplast sensura. I prefer the lower profile, 1 less leak potential and less movement constraints.  I have never use a barrier ring or any kind of paste. i do have a colostomy, so thing are a bit different between you and i.  though i first tried Cymed cause their poster boy was a rock climber with an ileostomy, so i figured if he climbed with those bags they must be a good athletic fit.  and they were til the last manufacturer change. surf ski kayaking with a thick wetsuit is the hardest on a bag, lots of continuous torso rotation, 2 days back to back before I have a failure. but thats 6-8hrs paddling. moutain biking, skate skiing are easier on bags, maybe 3-4days.  just going to work 4-6days, but they tend to start stinking and not leaking.  over the last 8 yrs the sensura holds on better, the mio still starts falling off too soon for my liking, plus as I said,  its bulky. i rarely notice i have a bag on, thats the whole point in finding what works best. this last year, I’ve mnt biked 250miles, paddled 400miles and probably skied 400miles, thats my data collection experience.LL and John? really? theres no real noticeable difference between a clip bag and a velcro in comfort and usability? ease of cleaning? look at the Cymed post, 36,000 views, if a bag were a bag were a bag, that post would not have so many views.   john, if you have only use convatec, where is your supporting evidence to your claim? I’ve use convatec,hollister,cymed,coloplast and maybe a few others.  

SqueakyandLiza
5 months ago

Hi JVTV,To echo what Stella said, you just need to keep trying different products until you find the one that is best for you. I am still struggling with this process myself. I started with the Sensura Mio one piece, and stuck with it for a while, but was having a lot of leaks. I tried a couple other brands, without much luck. They I went to the Sensura Mio 2 piece with the adhesive coupling, and the leaks don’t come as quickly with that one. It still isn’t perfect but I usually get a good two days, sometimes 3.  I am continuing to experiment, but just periodically, since it is so frustrating getting leaks and so rough on my skin.Good luck finding the one that is right for you!!

sjlovestosing
5 months ago

Hi JTVT,I agree with John in that one type of system isn’t any better than the other. It’s a good idea to try to find the system that works for you, so order as many samples as you can. Many people prefer the two-piece system and there are many advantages to them. I myself use the Sensura Mio one-piece as I like its low profile and it’s flexibility. I use a light convex system, since I have irregularities around my stoma. I usually get three days use out of mine. I probably could get more, but I don’t want to take a chance on leaks. Another thing I like about the Sensura Mio is the fact that it’s barrier keeps my skin healthy. I have not had any skin issues since I began using them.Stella

john68
5 months ago

I don’t think it’s fair to say that any type of appliance is better than another! Ok we all know that certain products have had problems. I have always used a 2 piece by Convatec and have spent most of my working life in construction. What maybe right for one may not be suitable for another. Don’t be afraid to try different samples 👍

dogtalkerer
5 months ago

I find the Mio’s to be over engineered and under performing.   the bags feel heavy & bulky compared to the Sensura.    A letter from coloplast said the bags flex even more now.   well give me a bag that flexes more than a 1 piece, otherwise why limit my movement?Mio’s are not an athletes friend.

JTVT
5 months ago
Reply to  dogtalkerer

@dogtalkererWhich one piece do you use? How many days do you get out of it? Also, do you use a barrier ring? I think I’ll still prefer a 2 piece but curious what has worked for you with an active lifestyle. I’m trying as many samples as I can get my hands on!

JTVT
6 months ago

Ugh. Anyone found a substance that works to allow these bags to rotate as easily as the video above? I’ve tried my face oil which is primarily jojoba and even a healthy dose of canola oil. Still very difficult to rotate. Guess I pick up some coconut oil next. This appliance is so oily now I just waiting for something (EZ vent, adhesive, anything that needs to stick) to slide right off! 

UCtoOstomy
6 months ago
Reply to  JTVT

@jtvtI use Argan Oil and only 2 drops or so.  But it never ‘free spins’ and requires a firm hold to turn.  The key for me is to hold the bag firmly down while turning so that it doesn’t pop off.   This has happened and still does sometimes when I am neglectful. The youtube video describes it perfectly in my opinion.    I hope you find a product that works and you can learn how to rotate your appliance effectively.  

LK
7 months ago
Reply to  VeganOstomy

@veganostomyI have eagerly been investigating the, 2 pce  system for a very long time, wondering just what exactly is the big attraction to this piece of equipment! Sure I’ve watched as many  videos as I possibly can too.  But…my biggest concern is exactly how this gadget stays together, and,  what if it pops open on me, with high output, and it likely would just so it could say it did if it could actually talk!!! The longer this forum gets, the more convinced I am to give it a try.My main reason for considering trying it is because as you ever so honestly, pointed out in your Video Eric…the unpleasantness of having a pouch that has gas or output in it and what it “looks like”  with said product in it, when  a pouch is not worn *sideways. The first time I heard you say you wear yours sideways, my ears not only stood at attention they soluted you!!! Being female,  gassy as ever, with short short gut syndrome, yes I said that twice, it is what it is, these are  my greatest concerns  & embarrassment! But, l heard you loud and clear that day.  I have been learning all I can and reading every word here, sometime several times, and the more I learn, the more I have a need to try this system. So,  I will make my phone call to Coloplast tomorrow and give it a whirl!Eric, is this the exact pouch system you use? Sorry, post concussion memory issues and I did not take notes. Also, would you recommend this for high, frequent output producers? What about frequent bending, ny dogs are small- med. size and I groom them  & play with them a lot.JTVT and Liza, your questions and concerns have been particularly  helpful to me. Thank you to everyone else who has taken part here also.Knowing I can attach the Osto EZ Vent, helps me with this decission, tremendously.                                      

SqueakyandLiza
7 months ago

Thanks UCtoOstomy. I’ve been thinking of trying the click 2 piece again instead of the adhesive. Now I think I will for sure try it and try a stealth belt too. I’ll take any life improvement I can get!!  Though I might have to wait until my wound is healed before trying the stealth belt? Maybe wait til the hernia is fixed too? 

JTVT
7 months ago

@uctoostomyAhhh. That was super helpful. I hope the Coloplast works for my skin as that is a slick (pun fully intended) set-up. Thanks! 

john68
7 months ago

Hi JTvT, when I say wrapping I mean using a strip of gauze after cleaning to wrap up the stoma. With a longer stoma it’s not easy to see the skin underneath. So I tend to lift the stoma and make sure all is ok and dry. I know this all seems like a lot of knowledge to take in. Plus each ostomate will have their own ways as we are all different. But believe me it becomes second nature. Take your time changing, it’s not how quickly but how well. A bit extra time is well spent.

JTVT
7 months ago
Reply to  VeganOstomy

@veganostomyFor thick output, the filter works too well on day one, squishing stoma and output, then is useless for me other than to create a less than appetizing pancake for remaining 2 days. Thinking of trying filterless with EZ vent. I like to be able to vent on demand from the top like with the Hollister 2 piece Tupperware flange. Once I heal up a bit I’ll be covering it with some sort of wrap or belt anyway so maybe the Coloplast transparent will work.  I have a bad feeling they may be phasing them out though :-(  The new Hollister transparent/ultra clear material is a deal breaker for me though. Way to thin, crinkly, and think it may leach odor. Do you use the opaque Hollister and forgo seeing your stoma in action?Thanks for the tips on the Mio click! They take some effort to get on! 

john68
7 months ago

Hi JTvT, You sound like a Pro already 😀 can’t give you any feedback on those particular products but on the pancaking yes the filters are a cause! Try a little air in the bag or roll up some toilet paper and put inside so it’s allowing room. On another point with a longer stoma which is good 👍 always remember to inspect the underside. I was guilty of this in the early days. Wrapping the stoma after cleaning will keep moisture of cleaned skin. Don’t use toilet paper for this. Yer doing well 👍

JTVT
7 months ago
Reply to  john68

@john68Haha. Thanks but by no means a pro. I’m still 50/50 on even emptying without making more of a mess than I would like! Need to buy stock in TP and wet wipes. What do you mean by “wrapping” the ventral aspect? I am now inspecting this area more closely as have some mucocutaneous separation there that I treat with each appliance change. I try to be careful to ensure that the barrier ring is closer to this area for protection though it’s difficult with a long spout! Each change is still a frustrating exercise but baby steps.  

JTVT
7 months ago

Wanted to clarify: anywhere you can get the Mio opaque pouch with inspection window (best of both worlds!).  There is still one filterless Mio available in transparent (11474). 

Diane
Diane
7 months ago

The video on how to put the 2 piece bag together is sort of misleading as it is quite easy to put it together OFF your body but I found it impossible to put together ON my body. If anyone has a suggestion for me I’d love to hear it as I am using the one piece now but would much prefer the two piece.

Diane
Diane
7 months ago
Reply to  VeganOstomy

Coloplast SenSura® Mio Click #18500 with pouch #11463

Diane
Diane
7 months ago
Reply to  VeganOstomy

Ahhh, I never thought of the convex curve causing the problem. Perhaps that is it. Thank you for this site, it has answered more questions than were answered during my almost three months in the hospital! The one piece convex (not concave) is what I am using now and it seems fine. The 18500 is convex not concave, by the way.

Bob
Bob
1 year ago

Hi Eric, I’m commenting here, even though I prefer 1-piece systems, because this is where you wrote the most about the Mio pre-filter and its connection with pancaking. I’ve had my ileostomy for 27 years. I used a Hollister system for most of that time, but stopped a few years ago after they made some changes, which apparently included a change in formulation of their Flextend barrier. I started using Sensura Mio in 2017, specifically model 10482, a 1-piece system which, like almost all Mio pouches, includes the big full-circle pre-filter. It seemed to work well at first. But in 2018, I had 4 major pouch leaks (or blowouts), including an embarrassing one at a social occasion. The last 3 of those leaks occurred within a 2-month span. On analyzing them, I decided they probably involved pancaking on occasions when my output got thick, and the huge Mio pre-filter may have acted as an obstacle that prevented the thick output from spreading away from the stoma area. So I decided to switch to non-filtered Mio pouches (specifically model 10492, which is identical to 10482 but without the filter). I’ve been using these non-filtered pouches for more than 7 months now and haven’t had any more leaks. Maybe it’s too soon to be absolutely certain, but it looks like I’ve solved the problem.

Eric, you wrote that you’ll get leaks due to ballooning but not pancaking. I seem to be the reverse. I’ve had serious leaks associated with pancaking but never any leaks from ballooning. Obviously, I get ballooning occasionally since I’m using non-filtered pouches now, but it hasn’t ever caused a leak. And interestingly, I think I got just as much ballooning when I was using filtered Mio pouches, suggesting that Coloplast’s highly touted Mio filter didn’t prevent ballooning in my case. (By the way, during all the years I used Hollister, I was using non-filtered pouches. During those years, I occasionally woke up with a scary high-pressure balloon on my belly, but it always stayed intact long enough to reach the bathroom and empty — never caused a leak.)

My main concern now is that Coloplast makes so few Mio models without the filter. The model I’m using (10492) can be found on Coloplast’s US website but not their Canadian website. And it seems that Coloplast’s websites for some countries don’t include any non-filtered Mio models at all. I hope they keep making the non-filtered pouches I’m using.

Bob
Bob
1 year ago
Reply to  VeganOstomy

Eric, thank you for replying so quickly! You wrote: “I can only guess that filtered models are more popular, even if they don’t work for everyone.”

Well, Coloplast has been promoting their full-circle filter very strongly. See their video at https://www.coloplast.us/global/ostomy/convex-launch/convex-innovation/?section=The-pre-filter-is-the-key_391002 And they seem to think it’s such a great innovation that they’re putting it in nearly every Mio model. It’s possible that this pre-filter is causing problems for a lot of people who have no idea that it’s a problem. Sometimes it’s pretty obvious, as in Gail’s case below. It wasn’t so obvious in my case. I was getting occasional major leaks for no apparent reason, which was very frustrating. Finally, I figured out that my leaks seemed to be related to pancaking caused by the Mio pre-filter.

You also wrote: “If you are feeling adventurous, you CAN cut out the large pre-filter from the Mio bags, and then put a sticker over the outside of the filter from the outside of the bag”

Since I had saved one of the filtered Mio pouches that I used to use, I’ve examined it to see if this would be possible. I decided that with the 1pc model I used, it wouldn’t be possible to cut out the pre-filter without destroying the pouch. But it might be possible with a 2pc.

JTVT
7 months ago
Reply to  Bob

Posted by: @Bob Eric, thank you for replying so quickly! You wrote: “I can only guess that filtered models are more popular, even if they don’t work for everyone.”Well, Coloplast has been promoting their full-circle filter very strongly. See their video at https://www.coloplast.us/global/ostomy/convex-launch/convex-innovation/?section=The-pre-filter-is-the-key_391002 And they seem to think it’s such a great innovation that they’re putting it in nearly every Mio model. It’s possible that this pre-filter is causing problems for a lot of people who have no idea that it’s a problem. Sometimes it’s pretty obvious, as in Gail’s case below. It wasn’t so obvious in my case. I was getting occasional major leaks for no apparent reason, which was very frustrating. Finally, I figured out that my leaks seemed to be related to pancaking caused by the Mio pre-filter.You also wrote: “If you are feeling adventurous, you CAN cut out the large pre-filter from the Mio bags, and then put a sticker over the outside of the filter from the outside of the bag”Since I had saved one of the filtered Mio pouches that I used to use, I’ve examined it to see if this would be possible. I decided that with the 1pc model I used, it wouldn’t be possible to cut out the pre-filter without destroying the pouch. But it might be possible with a 2pc.

Currently experimenting with appliance combos and have several thoughts and questions on Mio 2 piece. I’m still healing and have long stoma so sticking with 2 piece systems for now. Used Hollister with CLIPS while inpatient but ordered the lock and roll once I got home. I’m still at the stage where I want to see my output and stoma as its early days (and actually will likely prefer to always be able to see stoma). Ordered Hollister transparent and they changed the material! It’s now this thin crinkly plastic that extends to the spout, is hard the clean and does not inspire confidence! Apparently this is also what you get if you order ultra clear as well.  Anyone else notice this change in material?Back to Mio click 2 piece: -Love the feel of the bag, ability to roll cuff, and locking mechanism-super difficult to attach bag to wafer on skin as others have noted and unable to rotate once on even when unlocked (will try water as Eric suggested next time)-I have very thick output despite hydration and the prefilter is a recipe for pancaking. I cover the small filter on day one to allow for air but that huge prefilter sucks! It just sits there collecting shit around the stoma. I’d love a filterless option that I can attach the EZ vent to. Question: is the Mio Click pouch available anywhere without a filter?(interestingly, only the wide spout maxi (11473) are available in the US, not the narrow Eric mentions. I think this is ok though as I like the little Velcro tabs that hold back the spout protector). I need to see how the Coloplast wafer treats my skin then decide between the Hollister (would need to to opaque given the new flimsy fabric) and Coloplast and deal with the prefilter issue. So confusing!

Amber
Amber
6 months ago
Reply to  JTVT

I am under the impression that they have done away with the narrow spout bag altogether.

JTVT
6 months ago
Reply to  Amber

@AmberYes, only the wide spout is available now in the US. I have nothing to compare it to other than the Hollister New Image products but I don’t have any issues with the size of the Coloplast “wide” spout. Also, unlike the narrow spout, this model comes with little Velcro tabs to hold the end flap open which I really like. I have thick output so maybe with liquid output a narrow spout is more desirable but I would give the wide a try if in the US. Good luck!  

Bob
Bob
4 months ago
Reply to  Bob

I wrote 8 months ago that I switched from filtered to non-filtered Sensura Mio pouches after suffering several major pouch leaks which seemed to involve pancaking due to the Sensura Mio pre-filter. Now, some follow-up: After switching to the non-filtered pouches, I haven’t had any more leaks. However, I’ve had several NEAR leaks recently, where, during a regularly scheduled change, I discovered that it was very close to leaking, and a serious leak would have occurred if I had worn it just a little bit longer. Moreover, after reviewing all the data, I’ve determined that, in addition to the effect of pancaking and the Mio pre-filter, there’s a second factor which has contributed to my leaks:

The issue is that SENSURA MIO ADHESIVE HAS A SHORT SHELF LIFE. And, even when it hasn’t hit its expiry date yet, if it’s sufficiently close to its expiry date it can lose enough adhesion to increase the chance of leaks. Coloplast knows that Sensura Mio has a short shelf life, as they mark each box with a shelf life of only 2 years. (See the post about expiry dates at https://www.veganostomy.ca/ostomy-product-expiry/ and note the photo of box of Sensura Mio 1pc drainables). This is in marked contrast with Hollister and ConvaTec pouching systems, which are considered to have 5-year shelf lives. I’ve worked through all my purchase records of Sensura Mio pouches, which include the expiry dates of every box. I found that every time I’ve had a significant leak or near-leak, with either filtered or non-filtered Mio pouches, I was using Sensura Mio adhesive that was within 10 months of hitting its expiry date (or, equivalently, was older than 14 months after its manufacture date).

Given this information, I’d like to be able to instruct my supplier not to sell me any product that’s within 10 months of expiring. But that isn’t possible (All I can do is make sure they don’t sell product which has actually expired). What I’m doing now is choosing how long to wear each pouch based on its expiry date. Previously, I typically wore (one-piece) Mio pouches for 3 or 4 days. Now, I still wear them for 3 days if they have more than 10 months to go before hitting their expiry dates. However, if pouches are within 10 months of expiring, I wear them for only 2 days. I’m also being very careful to always use up older products (by expiry date) before newer products. Thus, if I get a newly purchased box which happens to be older (by expiry date) than a previously purchased box that I’m still using, I’ll immediately switch to the newly purchased box and use them up before returning to the previously purchased (newer) product.

While this is working, for now, it’s annoying to deal with a product that has such a short shelf life and sometimes get so little wear time. Therefore, as much as I like the Sensura Mio systems, I may hunt around to see if I could use a system from Hollister or ConvaTec with their more sensible 5-year shelf life.

Bob
Bob
3 months ago
Reply to  VeganOstomy

On changing the adhesive formulation, the Sensura Mio adhesive has some unique characteristics in terms of its elasticity and flexibility as shown in the video at https://www.coloplast.ca/sensura-mio-1-piece-drainable-en-ca.aspx#section=videos-and-animations_100 and it’s possible that in designing an adhesive with those characteristics, one of the trade-offs was a short shelf life.

LK
1 year ago

Gail, welcome to you too.  Try and pic up the amount of fluids you drink.  Drink before  during and after your meal as well. It can help combat some of the thickness you are experiencing.  I also found eating a salad in between bites of regular foods, helps a lot with thick output. With your last glass of fluid after your meal, remember to drink between meals too.  I try and swish up my food with the fluids by swaying it with my torso.  Weird, I know, but it has worked to mix it all up and I can not remember the last time I had that kind of thick output after I increased my water in take.  (All things considering ofcourse. ) Be careful not to hurt your new incisions, so go gently. I hope you find what works. Be well.Linda

Dona
1 year ago

Hi Gail and welcome to the forum,You could also just use a filterless bag ( whatever you are using that works for you, but get a model without an integral filter) .Then attach and Osto EZ-Vent. Do them in batches.There is info about Osto EZ-Vents on Vegan Ostomy. While this does add some time ( installation) and costs ( you usually have to purchase them …amazon carries them) they have made my ostomy MUCH easier to deal with.  Its a small plastic contraption that you attach to the bag . It has a thing that you can lift out ( like on a beach ball) to vent the gas. So helpful , especially at night.I use the Hollister two piece system. I used to get the bags that came with the filters, but they really don’t work very well, and actually leaked FROM the vents after four or five days .. NOT the desired outcome.Anyway, welcome and keep asking questions. I don’t know if they help with pancaking ( your original question) but they make it easy to avoid ballooning. For me pancaking occurs if I eat to much ‘grainy’ stuff. Nuts, seeds, dry crackers. Especially late in the day where it will be a problem later at night when I am laying down.

Tony
1 year ago

Hi Gail, I use the 2-piece Coloplast SenSura Mio Click #10502 barrier with the 650-mL #18620 pouch, and I have a similar issue. It helps if I use a sticker for the first day or so. After that, the filter usually gets too clogged to continue working, so gas does stay in the pouch, and the pancaking goes away. A very aggressive filter is a common cause of pancaking, but you needn’t go filterless and sacrifice the peace of mind you get from your favorite pouching system. Let us know how you make out. Welcome to the forums.

sjlovestosing
1 year ago

Hello Gail and welcome!  I use the one piece Sensura Mio convex and prefer the filtered bag since it is more discreet.  I also use a filter cover. Just make sure you add a little air to your bag if necessary (unless you produce enough gas to keep it slightly inflated.)  This keeps the bag away from the stoma. Good luck!Stella

Gail
Gail
1 year ago

I’m just 2 weeks post ileostomy surgery and have been using my hospital bags and samples up until now. However, I am at the point where I need to commit to a bag and order now. I’ve most recently used the Sensura Mio one piece, but want to switch to the 2 piece for several reasons. However, I am having a lot of pancaking with this bag, even with using a lubricant. It didn’t seem to be as bad with the Hollister bags I used, but I really prefer the design of the Mio and would like to stick with this bag if possible. My question is, should I just deal with the annoyance of pancaking and keep pushing the stool down, or is there something else I can try? I was thinking of getting the Mio without the filter (which as far as I know is only available in transparent) and using a cover. Maybe that would help? Or do you think it would be better to try a different bag? Ugh…it’s so hard to decide!

Also, I really appreciate your blog and have come to rely on it almost daily. It’s been a HUGE life-saver! Thank you!!!

SqueakyandLiza
1 year ago
Reply to  Gail

Gail,i have mostly been using the convex sensura mio one piece. I got some 2 piece samples. The ones that connect with the adhesive work similarly to the one piece for me, but the click ones, I have trouble with the output backing up behind the ring. It is a bummer because I see a lot of potential benefit from it. Good Luck to you. 

LK
1 year ago

Hi Sarah…welcome! Wow, you are fresh out of surgery!  Things will go much more smoothly in time. I had similar problems with sticking and I have sensitive skin. Eric is right, it is hard on the skin to apply a bag sitting down, been there, done that, learned.  So sit if you wish, until your ready to apply a new bag…then stand. Things I wish I had known ten years ago…Now, of course, we have Eric, and they have sprays. I now used the adhesive “spray” remover and a few wipes. I could tell the adhesive was all off my skin, when the wipes would slip over it a lot easier. I wipe down and rinse the skin with a clean wash cloth and only water, give it a bit of a spa time, gentle circles to massage the skin, pat or fan dry. I use a non- treated laundry soap (Tide Free). Next, I use the skin barrier “spray” and a wipe or two. Unfold them and get to the center, then fold or scrunch them a bit from there, as they seem wetter on the inside. I make sure that I take extra care to apply it around the edge of the skin by my stoma before a new bag goes on. I cover my stoma with a couple squares of 3 ply toilet paper to catch anything wanting to escape, and protect it from the sprays. I am sure they are safe on the stoma, but it is just something I prefer. I believe Eric uses gauze. Some drug stores will sell a larger unsterile (optional) pack in the first aid dept. It would be the better product vs. TP.  Spray onto a wipe to get the feel of the spray can. If you use the spray and happen to spray too much on your skin, you can use a wipe to mop up, and then fan the skin to dry, make sure you get all around the stoma and skin area. Always check that skin with a mirror.  You can touch your stoma, it is kind of hard, and you will not hurt it. Because of fatigue, I lay down after a bag change with a WARM hot water bottle, place it on a towel over my stoma and tummy area and then cover it, five mins. is good. Read for a while or rest. It always pays off for me to take this step. Also when you first apply the pouch, make sure that you fold it over away from you so you can see just where you are putting it on the skin under your stoma. Then make sure the top side of the stoma is dry, TP or the gauze, I use a Q-tip with the fuzz part spun between two fingers (ahead of time) to keep it closer to the Q-tip, then I dry the stoma and gently nudge the stoma into the hole I cut. Then as soon as it is on my tummy, I gently press around the edge of the skin several times to give it the pressure it seems to need in that area. Not hard, just gentle circles. Then I work my way out to the edges with the same pressure to the rest of it. I have just used the heat of my hand, and it does work, but it seems I need the bit of warmth and rest time before moving around with a new bag on. Recline/ to encourage anything on the way out down the bag. You can massage it gently a few times to encourage sticking. Another thing I learned much later was to use these Brava, Elastic Barrier Strips by Coloplast, they are C shaped, 2 per bag, 20 a box.  It is an ostomy tape used around the  part that sticks to your tummy and is soft, pliable and gives me a whole lot of extra security and has even saved my clothes from a leak, they have a wider one as well, which is what I use if bending a lot and gardening. Help to remove with adhesive remover. Remember that your body has a lot of accepting to do, so drink plenty of fluids in between and with your meals, and take a rest when you need one. Take advantage of the samples, Eric has a list of the companies here somewhere. Your likely a customer for life so they want your business. Best wishes Sarah. I hope all goes well for you.  When your up to it, try and take a walk every day. All the best and stay well.Linda

Dona
1 year ago

Hello and welcome, Sarah.You WILL get the hang of this. It is scary at first as you know. Eric’s advise is right on. Just keep those things in mind. Dry area, clean and warm. Warm the wafer, and use pressure.Once you have a good fit and get more familiar with the whole process there will be , honestly, times you forget you are wearing it.I do my changes laying down,  with pillows at my back. Gravity seems to help and I can relax as I do it.You might try keeping a diary of your changes, noting anything , and everything, that might be useful in the learning process. It is really hard to remember sometimes. Since you have only been at this for a week, you should also expect some changes as you heal up. Sometimes the stoma changes sizes .. just keep checking. Also, If you have access to a stoma nurse, use him or her.Best of health. Let us know how it goes.

Sarah
Sarah
1 year ago

I have had my illeostomy for 1 week now and here I am at 1:15 am panicking about which brand to go with.
My main concern is that I absolutely SUCK at putting these things on. I can’t seem to get the wafers to stick very well. Immediately after I apply them, they are already falling off. I have had better luck with 2-piece bags since I am able to see what I am doing, but it’s still not great. Do you apply yours while standing up? Any tips on getting them to stick better? Thank you for this review! I really like these bags and feel pretty good about them, but I really need more knowledge on how to apply them! :(

john68
1 year ago
Reply to  Sarah

Hi Sarah, Follow as Eric says and ye won’t go far wrong. Take your time prepare and leave and equipment handy and don’t panic. Before you know it changing will be as routine as brushing your teeth 👍

Songbringer
1 year ago

Hi Eric. I am used to wearing the Sensura Magnum 24/7. I’ve tried pouches in the past that are deemed “maxi”, and I have just laughed at what some companies deem maxi. I have no interest in emptying a pouch literally every 5 minutes, and with the ones deemed maxi, that has always been the issue when I used them. Ballooning is a HUGE factor for me. I love the Magnum, as an ostomate, because of my absurdly high output, and it’s capacity, and is excellent for nighttime, but with some garments, the spout is a LITTLE too visible…especially on a woman, and has caused me embarrassment in the past. How do you recommend mitigating ballooning? Hoping it doesn’t require altering pouches.

Songbringer
1 year ago

Hi Eric. Just wondering your thoughts on how well the pouch you reviewed holds up overnight? It looks really small, and for myself, as an ostomate, I fear this would blow out in the middle of the night fairly quickly.

sjlovestosing
2 years ago

Thanks, Eric for the advice to both my questions.  My husband and I think that it’s a good idea to put on the wafer first to make sure that it is fitting perfectly. After watching the video review of the Sensura Mio 2-piece and how it helped your stoma to heal after two weeks, the next time I change out my system I will  use just the barrier and pouch. I’ll also try wetting the ring to see if it helps to attach the pouch to the barrier. (Last time I changed my system, I did apply the stoma powder and used a protective wipe as well.)Stella

sjlovestosing
2 years ago

Just one other question, Eric. Do you attach the system before you put on the barrier? I have difficulty attaching it because I put the barrier on first then attach the pouch. Am I doing it wrong?

Thanks,
Stella

sjlovestosing
2 years ago

Hi Eric,I purchased the 2-piece click on your recommendation. I was so impressed with the thoroughness of your review and found that I like all the features that you were impressed with.  I did experience a small rash, so I am also using the Brava protective ring as well.  Any thoughts on using the extra ring?  Also, I do have a little difficulty attaching the pouch to the barrier. I will be checking out your tip on how to attach the system. I  am still new to all this, and must admit that my confidence level is not quite up there-I am always wondering if I am doing things wrong. (My husband has been very supportive and encouraging in all this I might add!)Thanks,Stella

sjlovestosing
2 years ago

Thanks for the tips guys!  I am currently trying the flex system – I put it on last night. It’s ok, but I do feel more secure with the click. I’ll be putting in my first order very soon and will probably stick with the the click system for now. In the future, I might try the flex again.Stella

john68
2 years ago

Hi Stella,You have a colostomy which is going to be thicker output. Drinking plenty of water is a help and some foods thicken output more than others. may be use some prune juice or other fruit juice to help thin. Please be wary of using laxatives!! The filter can cause a vacuum effect and maybe use the sticker to block it off. The are lubricants that can help keep the output flowing but be careful that any thing put in the bag don,t cause any harm to the stoma. could it be clothing that could be holding things back. and the old ostomy trick is to put some rolled up loo paper into the bag so it keeps the sides apart and lets output flow. Not a user of the Mio so can have a say about it but a very popular system and am sure others will know.

sjlovestosing
2 years ago

Hi,I thought I had sent this out to the forum, but I think I sent a private message in stead. I am still new to how to do all this – not the colostomy, just getting the hang of using the forum!Anyway, my question is has anyone had any experience with Coloplast SenSura Mio Flex 2-piece system? What were your results? I am using the Click system and am very pleased with it so far. I am having a little trouble with pancaking, but checked out Eric’s videos on the topic, so I think I can rectify the situation. Any info would be greatly appreciated!!!Stella

Arminda
2 years ago
Reply to  sjlovestosing

I manage my mom’s ileostomy, and we recently switched from the click to the flex and are very pleased thus far. I can’t speak about its effectiveness with pancaking, but I can say we both like the ease of taking the bag off and putting it on, and that it’s a little lower profile than the click.

One word of warning, though. We did have an issue last night. I did her bag change after a long few days at work and was exhausted, and I didn’t make sure the bag was sealed all the way around the barrier (I usually press all the way around), and my mom woke up to a small leak. There had been a wrinkle in the Adhesive I didn’t notice, and if the flex Adhesive gets wet, that’s all she wrote. Fortunately it was a quick fix, and we laughed about me being so tired, but figure it’s worth mentioning. Good luck!

Sasquatch
2 years ago
Reply to  sjlovestosing

This is one of the products I sampled before I decided on the Hollister products I currently use.  I did like how flexible the wafers were, and they seemed to stick to me fairly well.  The thing with them I didn’t like was how wide the wafer was, and I didn’t feel comfortable with it rotated either.  To me the “click system” seemed very secure, and I liked the feel of the fabric on their bags. The pancaking may or may not have to do with the bags themselves, that’s a pretty common battle with us ostomates.  I just remember to watch for it, so it doesn’t get to the point I have a blow out.  The vent sticker might be something to try, as long as ballooning doesn’t become an issue.  

sjlovestosing
2 years ago

So far, so good. I like the product a lot, though I did have a little trouble attaching the flanges. I noticed a little redness around my stoma before I put it on, so my hope is the base plate will help to heal that. I like the fact that the material they use is so silky and love the velcro feature. The one thing I wish Coloplast had was the same system of tape that Hollister has, so that when I put on the base plate, I can make sure everything is centered before I remove the tape tabs. Other than that, it seems like a great product! Thanks again!

Marcie
2 years ago
Reply to  sjlovestosing

sj0v-  do u use a seal ring?  I have both pouching systems, the one u have, and a one piece Mio.   Changing to a different barrier helps when or if I get red or sores.  Helps to heal-using a different barrier. 

sjlovestosing
2 years ago

Thank you, Eric for your review. It has given me confidence in trying out this product. Coloplast sent an amazing kit with all kinds of features, plus the SenSura Mio 2-piece click system. I look forward to using it.
Stella

Tracy Turner
Tracy Turner
2 years ago

Hi Eric, I am a new Ostomate and have spent hours viewing your clips. Thank you for all the helpful info. I started with a lovely round firm belly before surgery but now I call it my roller-coaster.
I have been trialling the Coloplast and Salts 1pc drainables and having problem making my mind up what I want. I have now made up my mind.
We are lucky in Australia, the government has a stoma scheme so we don’t have to pay for appliances and most Of The accessories.
Thanks again
Regards
Tracy

Di
2 years ago

Found clicking bag to wafer reasonably easy whilst holding in my hands.
Totally different oncewafer attached to my stoma. I must be able to take bag off and on quickly, takes ages, any tips please.

Di
2 years ago
Reply to  VeganOstomy

Ok thanks for quick response, much appreciated. Love your reviews, so informative.

Arminda
2 years ago

My mom is a recent addition to the ostomate community, and I was able to get some samples of this product from Coloplast. I also ended up purchasing a box of the Mio One-Piece to test out.

My mom has had quite a few issues thus far with her ileostomy. She was in a rehab/skilled nursing facility after leaving the hospital, so she ended up with a lot of “mix n match” systems put on by personnel who were not at all familiar with ileostomies and issues with liquid output. Your site has been INVALUABLE to me. Since moving to Assisted Living, mom has begun to start learning how to empty her bag (she suffers some retention and memory issues due to a brain surgery some years ago). This is the first pouch system she’s been able to open and close no problem. She essentially learned in one day – TODAY – how to empty this pouch pretty successfully, and she is able to close it and tuck the tail up inside the pouch without issue.

I’m still VERY new at putting her wafers on, so I can’t say I have much experience, but the size of the two-piece is about perfect for her body size. She is very small-framed and has lost a lot of weight, but has quite a few folds that were making other wafers suffer many, many issues. So far we’re at two days and everything is adhered as it should be (for us that might be a record). I tried putting on a one-piece last week and it leaked within a day. With that one I used barrier paste, with the two piece I tried an Eakin Seal (which seems to be working so much better). Any input on how one of those would work with the one-piece?

Thanks for your articles! I show them to my mom often and have supplied many of her nurses and aids with them. We like hearing “real world” experiences instead of simply another marketing ploy.

marie
marie
3 years ago

Hi Alison I cant get my bag to rotate, also I have to click the bag on the wafer before applying to skin other wise I cant get the bag to click on the wafer. any suggestions , thank you