Community Forums

Confused! Barbie Bu...

Notifications
Clear all

Confused! Barbie Butt or J-pouch removal?

21 Posts
9 Users
49 Likes
(@prairiegirl)
Topic starter  

Hi All. I am new to the site and this is my first time posting.....I really need some guidance.

I am booked for the Barbie Butt Sx at the end of Oct. I was diagnosed with UC in 2007 and since then it has been an incredibly long, rough and complicated road (I will spare you all the details). When my surgical journey began in 2011 with my first stoma there was no question I would be reconnected - I even was for a while. In 2014, during a life saving emergency surgery while I was over 7 months pregnant I was reverted back to an ostomy and my j-pouch was “preserved”. Since that time I have continued to have numerous complications, recurring divergent pouchitis, anal leakage, constant rectal pressure,  frequent rectal spasms, and very high and acidic output due to how high into my small intestine the stoma now sits (this is my 4th stoma). I recently realized/accepted that reconnection would never be possible SO I booked the Barbie Butt thinking it was my only other option - I figured that they should take it all of it seeing as I don’t need it BUT now I’m not so sure.

During my surgery they will also be moving my stoma and “redoing it” due to its less than ideal current placement, a recurring abscess and a small hernia. So I will have the same vertical abdominal wound as my previous surgeries, a new stoma, a closed up stoma wound, and the Barbie butt wounds.

I have been researching what to expect from the BB surgery and I can honestly say that I did not realize how intense this was going to be - I am absolutely terrified. I now have a 3 year old daughter and the idea of not being able to bend, lift or sit for 3 months is really scaring me. Even though my Mom is coming to help for 4 weeks, at the moment I can’t even fathom how I can live at home or mentally manage with so many surgical wounds.