Community Forums

Wearing Your Ostomy...

Notifications
Clear all

Wearing Your Ostomy Bag Horizontally: FAQ (w/ video)

18 Posts
3 Users
4 Likes
VeganOstomy
(@veganostomy)
Admin
Topic starter  
wpf-cross-image

Do you wear your appliance horizontally?

My written article on this topic can be found by clicking on the link below.

Just your friendly neighborhood ostomate.
~ Crohn's Disease ¦ Ileostomy ~

(@Joe Sordi)

I'm wondering if one could wear bag vertically. Simply do not zip the belt and allow bottom part to hang outside the belt. This gives some support for low volume exercise like golf.

ReplyQuote
VeganOstomy
(@veganostomy)
Admin
Topic starter  

Hi Joe,

Vertical is the common way to wear these bags, however, not everyone likes it in that position depending on what they're doing. For those who have a lower stoma or who may not have the option of wearing it hanging down, horizontal is a great option.

ReplyQuote
(@Tyler Gendron)

Hello, I’m new to a colostomy, its temporary and hopefully will be reversed within the year. What belts do you recommend for someone who does tuck in their shirt every day and don’t want to spend a fortune on belts. Thanks!

ReplyQuote
VeganOstomy
(@veganostomy)
Admin
Topic starter  

Hey Tyler, depending on where you live, there are many options! You may want to check prices on the manufacturer's website. I have a list of various companies here: https://www.veganostomy.ca/ostomy-clothing-manufacturers/

ReplyQuote
 Sean
(@Sean)

Hey man! New ostomate here- 6 weeks in. I’ve been pretty gung-ho, just doing stuff and working it out with support from my stoma nurse. Recently got a stealth belt and horizontal pouch rules - sooooo much more comfortable and “natural feeling”, just feels like the spare tyre I used to have before my surgery and al the weight loss!! Haha