Community Forums

Want to join the forums? Register HERE for instant access.

Already have an account? Login below:

Newbie here and overcame a big hurdle tonight...  

RSS

Michelle
(@michelle)
13/12/2017 6:55 pm  

Hi all! I'm Michelle and I had an emergency total colectomy and subsequent ileostomy two months ago due to an ulcerative colitis flare that just didn't respond to anything! Was only my second flare so think I'm still in a bit of shock to be honest.

Anyway, I think I overcame the hardest part tonight - talking to my kids about it. I have 11 and 8 year old girls and they have been dying to see my scar. They also knew there was something else apart from the scar, they're not silly :lol: I took the opportunity to get a bath and change my bag while they were at their grans and they happened to come home when I was bagless, and they both came bursting into the bathroom. 

I put my hand over my stoma while they ambushed my scar and gave it a good inspection and poke. My eldest girl asked me what was under my hand (youngest had lost interest by then and wandered off) and ended up showing her my stoma and my bag and having a brilliant chat with her. She knows I have Ulcerative colitis and I told her my poo didn't come out my bum anymore because the bad bit of my bowel was gone, and I pooed out my small bowel into the bag now, but look how healthy I was now! And look how convenient it is and how much time I'll save by not sitting on the toilet. Cue lots of questions about how I pass wind and she noted it doesn't smell as bad as normal poo. She then asked if anyone could get one and if she could have one! I think it helped that she has type 1 diabetes, and could relate to bits of your body not working and having contraptions attached to you!