Community Forums

Dressing with an Os...

Notifications
Clear all

Dressing with an Ostomy: A Guide for Ladies (Part 4)

10 Posts
6 Users
7 Likes
VeganOstomy
(@veganostomy)
Admin
Topic starter  
wpf-cross-image

Ladies, do you have any ostomy clothing tips you'd like to share? My written article on this topic can be found by clicking on the link below.

Just your friendly neighborhood ostomate.
~ Crohn's Disease ¦ Ileostomy ~

(@VeganOstomy)
Topic starter  

Ladies, what other tips do you have to share?

ReplyQuote
pink alpaca
(@pink-alpaca)

Hi
Just wanted to say how helpful this guide is. I had my ileostomy in February 2019, so I'm still a newbie. I favour slightly loose fitting tops and find dresses with a pattern detract attention from the pouch. I recently purchased some lingerie from Vanilla Blush (UK) as I wanted to have some light/medium support. I've tried the 3 pack (black, navy, white), everyday mixed ostomy underwear which has a handy internal ostomy pocket that runs from right to left, so you can position your pouch whichever side is convenient for you. They are very comfortable and the pouch remains secure in the pocket. They look good and make me feel more confident. I also purchased a white hernia support vest. I haven't got a hernia but find it useful support as a preventive measure against developing one. It's very comfortable to wear, looks good, can be difficult to get on and off - similar to compression socks, but offers great support and stays in place If you live in the UK these items are available on prescription.

C S Kisby

mouse, john68 and VeganOstomy reacted
ReplyQuote
VeganOstomy
(@veganostomy)
Admin
Topic starter  

Pink alpaca, I hear a lot of good things about the Vanilla Blush products! Glad you like them!

ReplyQuote
 Mary
(@Mary)