Community Forums

Closed End Bags  

RSS

fourtizzy
(@fourtizzy)
Registered
May 30, 2018 10:53 am  

I am new to ostomy life and I was hoping that I would be able to use the closed end bag (Natura by Convatec).  For the past week or so my output seems to be more than in the beginning and I have been using the open end style, because I empty the bag when it is 1/3 to 1/2 full.  That is a few times a day.  Is it possible to use the closed end bag and empty that as well through the wafer attachment area?  It seem like it would be a bit messy.  Does anyone do this?

john68
(@john68)
Registered
May 30, 2018 11:13 am  

Hi Fourtizzy, Welcome, that wouldn,t be the best of an idea. At the start the output will be more liquid and as yer diet improves it will thicken.

ileostomy 31st August 1994 for Crohns

ReplyQuote
Sasquatch
(@sasquatch)
Registered
May 30, 2018 11:59 am  

Welcome to the forum!!

Do you have an ileostomy or a colostomy?  There will be differences in your output depending on which you have.  With the ileostomy the output is generally a little more liquidy to mushy.  With the colostomy, depending how much of the colon is left, tends to be a little more solid.  There is a lot of collective knowledge on this forum, we'll help you find your way.

UC since 2002, subtotal colectomy Dec. 2016, proctolectomy Nov. 2018.

ReplyQuote
fourtizzy
(@fourtizzy)
Registered
May 30, 2018 12:57 pm