Cycling/Hiking/clim...

Notifications
Clear all

Cycling/Hiking/climbing help needed

kevin eh
(@kevin-eh)
Registered
Topic starter  

I am new to having an ostomy.  I use to climb, bike and hike but I am having trouble with the climbing and hiking part. 

Climbing: I have started using a full body harness instead of a standard harness and I am wondering if anyone has any other tips.

Biking: I just don't eat before going biking so my bag does not swell while biking.  Any other tips or helpful ideas.

Hiking: How do i using a hiking backpack with a waist strap?  Would a stoma guard protect the stoma if the strap went over the stoma area?  I am thinking of getting the Ostomy Resolutions Sure Guard.  Can anyone offer any advise on this?

Also, I would love to talk to someone who is active and young/middle age to talk about what I am going through and how difficult it is.

Thanks,

Kevin

Madrad and Lynne liked
Lynne
(@lynne)
Registered

Hi Kevin.  I found this woman's site about her many outdoor adventures very inspiring Ostomy Outdoors – OstomyOutdoors.com chronicles my return to outdoor adventures with a permanent ileostomy. Hopefully you'll get some good tips there. 

I had my surgery about a year and a half ago and am really happy/in the best health I've ever been but while I am middle age :-) ,  so far I have just done long walks/hikes without backpacks and do a lot of yoga/qigong, so my experience is not directly applicable to your question.

I think you'll find there are solutions to help you do whatever it is you want to do!  All the best.

ReplyQuote
kevin eh
(@kevin-eh)
Registered
Topic starter  

@lynne

Thanks for the post Lynne and the link.  I had found her prior and her stoma is below the belt line of the harness.  Lucky duck.  

Also thank you for the encouragment.

ReplyQuote
VeganOstomy
(@veganostomy)
Admin

Welcome to the forums @kevin-eh