Community Forums

Shower  

RSS

Donna2138
(@donna2138)
Registered
June 19, 2018 7:12 am  

Hi, I’m new here and I will be having surgery July 13. It seems complicated and a lot to learn. My question is about showing with taking your bag off. I was wondering if you take your bag part off and leave the wafer on can you still take a shower and not cover it up? Sorry I’m still learning the names of each part. Thanks

Donna Lynch

VeganOstomy
(@veganostomy)
Admin
June 19, 2018 9:16 am  

Hi Donna, 

Welcome to the forums!

I have a lot of information on showers in this article :  https://www.veganostomy.ca/showering-ostomy-w-video/

Whether you take your appliance off or leave it on is completely up to you. 

Keeping it on won't hurt the appliance (although some pouches require that a sticker be put over the filter first) and taking it off won't hurt your stoma. 

If your stoma is active then you will end up pooping in the shower, so that's something to keep in mind. 

Let us know if you have any other questions!

Just your friendly neighborhood ostomate.

~ Crohn's Disease ¦ Ileostomy ~

ReplyQuote
john68
(@john68)
Registered
June 19, 2018 1:09 pm  

Hi Donna, A lot of things at first with an ostomy will seem difficult. but every thing can be over come and before ye know will be second nature. All the best for your surgery

ileostomy 31st August 1994 for Crohns

ReplyQuote
Dona
 Dona
(@dona)
Registered
June 19, 2018 3:03 pm  

Hi Donna  (another Dona here!),

Welcome to the forums.

You can shower just fine with or without the appliance on. You will get the hang of figuring out when your stoma is least active ( usually in the morning for most of us) and shower at that time if you want to take everything off. This really feels good and is a good time to clean your skin really well.. But, like Eric said.. its up to you if you  to leave it on, or just remove the bag part.