Notifications
Clear all

Beginnings

Page 1 / 2

glenn.giroir
(@glenn-giroir)
Registered
Topic starter  

Today I was going through stacks of old papers when I came across this.  It took me aback for the rest of the day.  Lots of memories.  I remember the day that I got the phone call from My Gastroenterologist, just before this letter arrived in the mail.  It was 6pm and I saw on caller ID who it was.  The first thing that came to mind was that if my doctor is calling me, and at 6pm, it probably won't be great news.  I remember listening to him tell me that he recommended the removal of my colon.  I remember that although I had been preparing for this possibility for more than 25 years (I had almost lost my colon the first year of my Ulcerative Colitis diagnosis in 1995), it's funny how you react when faced with the reality.  My GI recommenced that I see him at his office.  He gave me the phone number of a surgeon who he recommended.  I remember him asking what I thought, and all I could say was that I couldn't think at the moment.  I remember the kindness in his voice as he apologized for the news, and suggested that I sleep on it and call him in the morning.  I remember my wife watching me on the phone, seeing in her face that she knew something was up.  I remember just being pretty numb.  I remember standing up from my hospital bed for my first walk post surgery, and knowing that this was going to be much more difficult than I could have imagined.  I remember breaking down and crying the day I was released from the hospital because 25 years of memories of chronic illness came rushing to the surface.  I remember the joy of seeing my two daughters for the first time after a week in the hospital and knowing why I was doing this.