Notifications
Clear all

Crohn’s flare up?

10 Posts
6 Users
11 Likes
(@squeakyandliza)
Topic starter  

I have a question for others with Crohn’s. Since I am still relatively new to my Crohn’s diagnosis, I don’t have much background on what a flare up is like. I know it probably affects everyone differently, but thought I would post this here. 

In November, I had an episode that started feeling like indigestion, and then went to pain in my abdomen, chest and back. I couldn’t even stand up straight- the most comfortable I could get was leaning over with my head on the kitchen counter. I also felt a bit queasy. So we went to the Emergency Room. They did a CT scan and some tests. They also gave me prednisone and a prescription for dicyclomene. They weren’t sure exactly what was causing it, so they attributed it to a Crohn’s attack. After the strong pain meds and high prednisone dose in hospital, I came home and slept several hours and woke up feeling better. 

I had similar attacks in January and March. Both times I took the dicyclomene and a couple Tylenol and slept felt better a few hours later. 

Yesterday the same thing happened so I did the same thing- took dicyclomene and a couple Tylenol and slept and woke up feeling better. Then today it happened again. I took a dicyclomene, but it didn’t do much. I just took another one, along with some Tylenol and just got into bed. It is so hard to get comfortable, being this miserable. ?

I was wondering if any of you have had Crohn’s manifest in this way - tummy, chest and back pain, with a touch of nausea??  I also feel like the hernia on my left side has gotten worse. It is so huge!!  It literally looks like there is a cantaloupe under my skin. So I’m wondering if the hernia could be causing these symptoms. It does make the pain worse to touch around the hernia. Has anyone with a hernia experienced this??

Thanks for any feedback. 

-Liza
Ileostomy 6/18/2018
“May your day be bright and your bag be light.”

VeganOstomy