Notifications
Clear all

Ileostomy Question  

RSS

glenn.giroir
(@glenn-giroir)
Registered
August 17, 2020 1:34 am  

Hi all.  I'm sure this is normal, but I'm a newbie so wanted to get some feedback.  I've had my permanent ileostomy since Dec 2019.  After all of the swelling went away it settled in at a little over 27mm in diameter (a little over an inch) and it is a pretty good outie at about 3 cm in length.  Most of the time, it is just relaxed and flopped over in the bag doing its thing, but at times, it really flexes and becomes hard.  This can happen at any time (I don't have to be using my abs or anything).  It especially happens when I mess with it while changing my bag.  It just perks up and the muscles contract and it feels hard.  I have absolutely no problems with anything - no leaks, no pain, and I eat anything and don't even come close to getting a blockage.  I've not seen my ostomy nurse since a couple of months after surgery, so I have not been able to ask all of the weird questions that I have.  So, I guess my question is, if you have an ileostomy, is it always soft and floppy, or is it sometimes hard to the touch?  Thanks.  

Glenn   

Ulcerative Colitis (1995)
Permanent Ileostomy (2019)

Doing what it takes to enjoy life to its fullest.

john68
(@john68)
Registered
August 17, 2020 3:44 am  

Hi Glenn, What you are explaining sounds perfectly normal All part of digestion and transit. 👍

ileostomy 31st August 1994 for Crohns

glenn.giroir and LK liked
ReplyQuote
LK
 LK
(@dlkfiretruck)
Registered
August 17, 2020 6:42 am