Clear all

Granulomas?

26 Posts
6 Users
28 Likes
glenn.giroir
(@glenn-giroir)
Topic starter  

Hi Everyone.  Since the swelling has gone down in my stoma, I've been noticing bumps, mostly at the junction with my skin, but some on the stoma.  I just assumed that this was the normal appearance of a stoma since I am new at this.  But, I've googled it and I think that I may have granulomas.  I have no discomfort and they are not interfering with my appliance.  I've had no leaks in my 10 weeks as an ostomate, just one blowout at night due to gas buildup.    I know that this is really a question for an ostomy nurse, but I do have a deductible on my insurance, and if it is nothing I'd hate to deal with the expense of a visit.  Anyone have any experience with granulomas? 

Thanks for listening,

Glenn

Ulcerative Colitis (1995)
Permanent Ileostomy (2019)
Doing what it takes to enjoy life to its fullest.

LK reacted
(@squeakyandliza)

Hi Glenn,

I have had a lot of granulomas, both on my stoma and like you, on the edge of skin by the stoma. My ostomy nurse has “burned them off” by using a stick, like a long matchstick with silver nitrate on the tip. Even though the stoma has no feeling, she always squirts it with some liquid lidocaine to numb it a bit. It is a super quick easy process. There will be a bit of black coloration for a day or two in the spots she touched with the silver nitrate. I would imagine it should be included with your ostomy appt, from an insurance standpoint. At least with mine it is. 

Good question. I hope this helped. ?

-Liza
Ileostomy 6/18/2018
“May your day be bright and your bag be light.”

LK and glenn.giroir reacted
ReplyQuote
(@john68)